BOO

So whenst last we visited, we were contemplating the doomed outcome of my Garden View Shawlette.

I was running out of yarn, finding it becoming hairy like a yeti, and a little over twisted in spots.

Let’s not mention the thick/thin yarn features of being a newbie yarn spinner.

A lot has happened in a few days so let’s catch up shall we?

BOO

Did I scare ya?

Are you ready for Halloween?

Doing anything fun?

I might be going to Jury Duty.

I know!

SCARY.

I am so glad its Friday for me because I am readyto have a sleep in morning. for some halloween fun.

It’s kind of a fun day today so that’s always nice.

First, management hosted some fun trick or treating upstairs.

I feel tricks never get enough attention on Halloween, being everyone is a sugar zombie looking for thier next fix, so I decided to try and scare one of my co-workers.

BOO

Tee hee.

I got her!

I should have been nice to her because she made this amazing pumpkin bread which I snarfed down before we hit the first candy spot.

I won some movie tickets because the candy I chose had a golden ticket sun sticker on it!

Twix would never steer you wrong people.

On our way out of the little haunted dept of doom, we stopped for some apple cider (which is why I went up there in the first place).

I wished I had brought my travel mug because it was HOT and perfect for this chill that we’ve got going on here lately.

Before we left though, I kicked off my shoes to sneak up on my co-worker again…

Got her, twice!

Hehe

OK. Time to come back to the Garden View Shawlette.

I know I am supposed to be all focused on Aidez, and trust me, I’m still at it; but the Shawlette has me gripped like a good novel.

If you need a first timer shawl, that is not overly complicated and confusing, fun to knit and beautiful…this one hits the mark.

I mentioned that I was probably going to run out of yarn, and I did.

3 leaves from the end.

In yarn talk that means 2/3 rds of the way through.

I also mentioned that I felt I had about 2 ounces of roving left to spin.

That was bad guess on my part, as I really had 7/8ths of an ounce.

I don’t remember the last time I used my food scale for actual “food”.

So Tuesday was spin night.

this is pencil roving and it’s super easy to spin…little drafting involved

I was set on a certain weight and not too twisted as I mentioned before. Plus I wasn’t going to ply it to take the twist out, nor would I be soaking it, which I almost always do after spinning. It took me two hours to spin 7/8′s of an ounce.

I really made myself slow down and take my time.

Plus I REALLY wanted to get it done Tuesday night.

This 7/8 ounce blob of roving in Toffee (see I told you it had a name) made me another hundred yards and plenty to finish my shawl , which I promptly did on Wednesday.

I realized after spinning the last bit that this roving is just fuzzy and the yeti -ness of my shawl is not my fault…really it’s NOT.

Wednesday night I soaked it in some mild soap and fabric softener, hedging my bet that I could soften, and de-fuzz my yeti shawl.

So today at break me n Deb grabbed our pins and mat and she helped me block it, and now it’s hiding in the break room with fans.

And it smells like goat.

Wet goat.

Oops.

If you manage your free time wisely you really can do amazing things with it.

And now I am antsy to get back to Aidez. I think I am still ahead of schedule so no pressure!

Oh and see this?

Deb made these super-duper adorable hand warmers that are bright and stripey.

I fell in love with them.

I probably could have begged her to part with them but she made them for a charity event, so she gave me the remaining yarn.

It’s sock weight.

I’ll be making my own witchy-poo hand warmers soon and saving a bit for tiny knitted madness.

Happy Thursday WORLD.

I’m having a sugar rush.

In exactly 12 minutes I’ll have a headache and want to barf.

Okay, I already have the headache.

Gotta love sugar.

BOO

Did I scare ya?

how festive am I this week?

This is Hootie Owl. Even my cheap-ass jewelry has to be named by JJ.

Come back by for the final conclusion of Yeti Shawl. The project that begged to be frogged…

…but wasn’t.

yet.

xo

Leave a Reply

